Search site

Council Chairman celebrates local volunteer heroes

Outstanding individuals who give their time as volunteers were recognised by our Chairman, Cllr Christine Ward, at a recent reception.

12 people received awards at the Chairman's annual Volunteers' Awards reception, held to thank individuals and groups who give dedicated service to the people and places of the New Forest.

Volunteer awards 2017 Nominees and their nominating Councillors, Chairman centre, in Council Chamber at Appletree Court in Lyndhurst.

Cllr Christine Ward, said "I am so thankful for what all the volunteers do for our district and am pleased to be able to recognise them in this small way.  I want to highlight in particular Gerald Hollyoake and Susan Burley, who have raised over £42,000 for local charities from their 13 year involvement in the Byron Road New Milton Christmas lights.  An amazing achievement."   

Nominations were invited from district councillors and were considered on the basis of length of volunteer service, funds raised for good causes, numbers of people supported, challenges overcome, and level of commitment demonstrated.

There were nine awards overall, three of which were shared.

Photo:  Nominees and their nominating Councillors, Chairman centre, in Council Chamber at Appletree Court in Lyndhurst.  

Winners were: 

Amanda Broomfield

Nominated by Cllr Dan Poole and Cllr James Binns

Amanda leads the 'Hythe Alive' traders, who raise funds, prepare and organise the Christmas Lights for Hythe Town Centre. She also regularly supports and leads on other charity and community events.


Eunice Harris and Yvonne Mooney

Nominated by Cllr James Binns

As committee members of the Butts Ash Community Association, Yvonne and Eunice have, over a period of 20 years, given up so much of their own time to support their local community.


Louis Bonney

Nominated by Cllr Diane Andrews, represented by  Cllr Mark Steele

Louis sources unwanted adult bikes to strip and prepare them so that people from all walks of life, who are less fortunate, can have fun learning how to repair, maintain and ride bikes.


John & Elaine Chester

Nominated by Cllr Maureen Holding and Cllr Michael Harris

John and Elaine have run the Brockenhurst  & Sway Day Centre, which provides essential services for frail and elderly residents, 

since June 2006. 


Frederick Norris

Nominated by Cllr Michael Harris

Frederick works tirelessly for Beaulieu Village, including holding a number of key roles  such as Chairman of the Parish Council, Parochial Parish Council member, church warden and a Trustee of Beaulieu Common Good Trust


John Barns

Nominated by Cllr Peter Armstrong

John is a valuable volunteer, being involved in numerous community activities, including Butts Ash Community Association, Citizens Advice Bureau (Hythe) and Compass Counselling (Lymington)


David Avery

Nominated by Cllr Neil Tungate

David is the Committee Secretary for Bashley Village Hall, tirelessly volunteering to support the Village Hall and wider Bashley community.


Gerald Hollyoake & Susan Burley

Nominated by Cllr Goff Beck

Gerald and Susan have been instrumental to the organisation, funding and installation of the Byron Road Christmas Light spectacular, which has raised over £42,000 for charities since it started 13 years ago.


Joan Hickling

Nominated by Cllr Allan Glass

Joan has run Blackfield Ladies Circle for over 15 years. Now with 26 members, the Circle meet every month with guest speakers, quizzes and garden parties being organised. It is a forum for mature ladies to meet and support each other.


Updated: 8 Jan 2018
Powered by GOSS iCM